Connie’s APQS Studio

Connie’s Quilt Studio is inside Quilt Country in Lewisville, TX.  She gives longarm classes and rents out her machines by the hour.  She’s a great teacher, very knowledgeable about all aspects of the quilting process, and guides you along with encouragement. 

Last week I returned to her studio to try my hand at quilting my own quilts.  I currently have about eight quilts in my closet waiting to be sent to a quilter so I decided I’d take two of the smaller ones and try my hand at it.  I was extremely nervous about spoiling the work I had already done on the piecing but Connie encouraged me, let me practice then helped me get started.  I did a simple meander on both quilts so I could get the feel of how you need to move the machine across the quilt.  My arm and shoulder got quite a workout.

I’m so proud of how they turned out.  It’s one of those moments in life when you can shout YES! I did it!  It really gives you a feeling of accomplishment.  I’m returning next Tuesday to practice on some larger quilts I have ready.  I hope to try out other patterns on those. 

Take a look at the finished quilts and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

